I recently went to Venice with family and friends, one of which had a Travel Document issued to him by the Home Office as he was granted asylum.
When you receive a travel document (which is applied for on form TD112) it normally states the country that you are allowed to travel to. EU countries are included in that list and normally you would not need a Schengen Visa to travel to those countries.
So, we booked our tickets to Venice, Italy and went to Gatwick to check in on the day. At check in, my friend was not allowed to travel as recent changes were made to certain countries visa requirements. Luckily, British Airways refunded his tickets and hotel fees and allowed him to book a new holiday to Holland, a country that doesn’t require visas for Travel Document holders.
Below, I have given you guys the list of countries and their requirements so that you have a record for yourselves. For further information on Schengen Visas, travel documents or any other Immigration matters, please contact us.
Country Visa required for visitor with 1951 UN Convention Travel Document

  • Greece No
  • Iceland No
  • Liechtenstein No
  • Sweden No
  • Lithuania No
  • Malta No
  • Vatican City No
  • Albania No
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina No
  • Bulgaria No
  • Croatia No
  • Cyprus No
  • Denmark No
  • Finland No
  • France No
  • Georgia No
  • Germany No
  • Monaco No
  • Montenegro No
  • Netherlands No
  • Norway No
  • Portugal No
  • Romania No
  • San Marino No
  • Slovakia No
  • Spain No
  • Switzerland No
  • Dubai Not allowed
  • Dominican Republic No
  • Azerbaijan Yes
  • Hungary No
  • Belarus Yes
  • Belgium No
  • Kazakhstan Yes
  • Luxembourg No
  • Estonia No
  • Italy Yes
  • Czech Republic Yes
  • Poland Yes
  • Serbia Yes
  • Moldova No
  • Turkey Yes
  • Armenia Yes
  • Ireland Yes
  • Macedonia Yes
  • Ukraine No
  • Austria Yes
  • Andorra No